Six NSCAD alumni longlisted for Sobey Art Award
April 28, 2011

Six NSCAD alumni are among the 25 artists from across Canada longlisted for the 2011 Sobey Art Award, Canada’s pre-eminent prize for contemporary Canadian art.

Zeke Moores, BFA ’02; Kym Greeley, ANSCAD ’88; Michael Flaherty, BFA ’01 and Becka Viau, BFA ’04 were named from the Atlantic region, along with Christian Giroux, MFA ’95, from Ontario and Denton Fredrickson, MFA ’04, representing Prairies and the North.

The shortlist for the 2011 Sobey Art Award will be announced in May. Selected work by the shortlisted artists will be featured in an exhibition at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, on view from September 17, 2011 to January 8, 2012. The winner will be announced during a gala event at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia on October 13, 2011.   

The Sobey Art Award was created in 2002 by the Sobey Art Foundation. It is an annual prize given to an artist under 40 who has exhibited in a public or commercial art gallery within 18 months of being nominated. A total of $70,000 in prize money is awarded annually; $50,000 to the winner and $5,000 to the other four finalists. Since its inception, the Sobey Art Award and accompanying exhibition have been organized and administered by the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia.