Borrow and return library books - anywhere, easily
November 9, 2009

Libraries Nova Scotia, a collaboration of more than one hundred public, college and university libraries across the province, recently launched the Borrow Anywhere, Return Anywhere (BARA) pilot program.  As a member of this initiative, NSCAD community members can use their registered ID cards to borrow and return material at any participating library in Nova Scotia. 

Friends and family of NSCAD students, faculty, and staff are also eligible for a library card at no cost. 

The program was officially launched by Marilyn More, Nova Scotia Minister of Education, at a reception held at the Atlantic School of Theology on October 21, 2009. (See below.) The event was attended by several university and library leaders including NSCAD University President Professor David B. Smith, Provost and Vice President Academic Dr. James Moy and University Librarian Tanja Harrison.

“The NSCAD Library holds the largest collection of its kind in the region and local alumni are active users,” says Ms. Harrison.  “Joining such a partnership enables us to offer library cards at no cost. "

"The program further provides the convenience of taking out material at one participating library and bringing it back at another, without having to worry how the material will find its way back,” Harrison adds. "Nova Scotia’s public, university and community college libraries offer a wealth of information and the new program makes these valuable resources more accessible to any alumni with a library card."

To learn more, visit the Libraries Nova Scotia website. To register, simply bring your identification to the NSCAD University Library or any participating library in Nova Scotia.

BARA Presidents

From left:  David Shaver (Vice-President Academic, Dalhousie University), Alexa McDonough (Interim President, Mount St. Vincent University), Colin Dodds (President, Saint Mary’s University), William Barker (President, University of Kings College), Minister of Education Marilyn More, Rev. Canon Eric Beresford (President, Atlantic School of Theology), David B. Smith (President, NSCAD University), James Moy (Provost and Vice-President Academic, NSCAD University)

Photo: Communications Nova Scotia