Paul Greenhalgh joined NSCAD as its president in 2001 from London’s Victoria and Albert Museum. He headed a period of unprecedented physical plant expansion beginning with the purchase in 2002 of the block of heritage buildings NSCAD had leased since 1978, establishing the University’s first permanent home in downtown Halifax.
In 2002, NSCAD acquired another historic gem – the Academy Building, adjacent to the Halifax Citadel fortress and a short walk from the main campus. Built in 1878 as a high school, the building now houses the first degree-granting film school east of Montreal, with edit suites, a state-of-the-art screening room, and a professional soundstage. NSCAD also established new courses in fashion and product design, and seeded curriculum expansion in Graduate Studies.
In September 2003, the college was renamed NSCAD University to better reflect our status as Canada’s principal, degree-granting independent university dedicated to the visual arts.
By 2005, enrolment had grow to more than 1,000 full-time and part-time students, up from 400 in 1970.
In 2006, construction of the third campus commenced on property owned by the Halifax Port Authority at Halifax’s seawall.