search committee

As the leader of an inclusive academic community where members are known and celebrated for their creativity and differences, the president of NSCAD ensures the university is promoting creative progress and pursuing sustainable leadership in art, craft and design.

The Presidential Search Committee has completed its mandate, and on December 1, 2021 the NSCAD Board of Governors announced Dr. Peggy Shannon as the new president of NSCAD .

Working with executive search firm Perrett Laver, the committee consulted broadly with the NSCAD community to guide the evaluation and recommendation of candidates.

During mid- April/May 2021, Perrett Laver conducted online engagement forums with internal NSCAD stakeholder groups and targeted meetings with external stakeholders. The firm invited more than 150 participants to share thoughts on thekey opportunities and challenges for NSCAD, as well as the key qualities they would like to see in the next president. More than 50 took up the invitation and participated online or by phone.

Search Process Overview

The Committee’s Core Principles

Committee Members

  • Jim Horwich (Committee Chair), NSCAD Board of Governors
  • Maggie Marwah, (Committee Secretary), NSCAD Board of Governors
  • Joanne Hames, Member, NSCAD Board of Governors
  • Cheryl Hann, Member, NSCAD Board of Governors
  • Rory MacDonald, FUNSCAD
  • Kim Morgan, FUNSCAD
  • Nicole Maggio, SUNSCAD