Post-storm update: All NSCAD University campuses have now reopened. 


The NSCAD Senate is the university’s senior academic governing body and is required for institutional decision-making and accountability. its authority is inscribed in the Constitution and By-Laws for the Academic Governance of the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (March 21, 2005). The Senate functions through a standing committee structure consisting of 11 committees and 7 subcommittees, and its membership is comprised of faculty, staff and students.

Senate Meeting Schedule

All meetings scheduled from 10 -11 a.m.

  • September 12, 2022 – minutes
  • October 3, 2022 – minutes
  • October 24, 2022 – minutes
  • November 14, 2022 – minutes
  • December 5, 2022 – minutes
  • January 23, 2023 – minutes
  • February 13, 2023
  • March 27, 2023
  • April 17, 2023
  • May 8, 2023
  • May 29, 2023
  • June 19, 2023

Academic Senate Members

Adrian Fish
Senate Chair
Associate Professor
Division Chair, Media Arts

Dr. Peggy Shannon
President, NSCAD University

Jana Macalik
Interim Vice-President, Academic Affairs
and Research, and Provost

Alex Livingston
Professor, Painting

Anne Masterson
Academic Affairs Officer / FOIPOP Coordinator

Catherine Allen
Manager, School of Extended Studies

Glen Hougan
Division Chair, Design
Associate Professor, Design

Craig Leonard
Director, MFA Program

Mathew Reichertz
Associate Professor
Division Chair, Fine Arts

Ratish Mohan
Acting Registrar

Noelle Peach
Director Teaching and Learning

Jacqueline Warwick
Interim Academic Dean

Sam Fisher
Chair, Media Arts 

David Smith
Director, MAED

Leanne Dowe

Dr. Marylin McKay
Division Chair, Art History and Contemporary Culture

President, SUNSCAD

Alexandra Butu
VP, Academic, SUNSCAD

Michael LeBlanc
Associate Professor, Design

Rebecca Young
Director, Library Services

Rory MacDonald
Associate Professor
Chair, Craft Division

Rose Zack
Manager, Admissions and Enrolment Services

Dr. Rudi Meyer
Director, MDes Program

Sarah Maloney
Regular Part-Time Faculty
Chair, Foundation

Jayme Spinks
Regular Part-Time Faculty

Dave van der Wetering
NSCAD Board of Governors

Mark Bovey
Associate Professor, Printmaking