Presidential Search Committee

As the leader of an inclusive academic community where members are known and celebrated for their creativity and differences, the president of NSCAD ensures the university is promoting creative progress and pursuing sustainable leadership in art, craft and design.

The Presidential Search Committee is currently conducting the search for NSCAD’s next president, and for carefully evaluating and recommending to the NSCAD Board of Governors the most suitable candidate for the Office of President.

Working with executive search firm Perrett Laver, the committee consulted broadly with the NSCAD community to guide the evaluation and recommendation of candidates.

During mid- April/May 2021, Perrett Laver conducted online engagement forums with internal NSCAD stakeholder groups and targeted meetings with external stakeholders. The firm invited more than 150 participants to share thoughts on the key opportunities and challenges for NSCAD, as well as the key qualities they would like to see in the next president. More than 50 took up the invitation and participated online or by phone.

Perrett Laver developed a position profile based on this feedback, and a public advertisement for the position is now being promoted.

The NSCAD community is welcome to provide input to the committee at any point in the process. Written submissions will be accepted in confidence through Emily Jarvis at Perrett Laver ( Emily will accept by email the names of any individuals who would be suitable candidates for the position. She can also arrange a conversation with a Perrett Laver consultant for anyone wishing to have a direct conversation about the recruitment.

Alternately, please complete the form below to share your views in this vital undertaking as we shape the future of NSCAD.


Search Process Overview

The Committee’s Core Principles

Search Process Updates

September 24
August 5
July 1
June 4

Committee  members

Jim Horwich (Committee Chair), NSCAD Board of Governors

Maggie Marwah, (Committee Secretary), NSCAD Board of Governors

Joanne Hames, Member, NSCAD Board of Governors

Cheryl Hann, Member, NSCAD Board of Governors

Rory MacDonald, FUNSCAD

Kim Morgan, FUNSCAD

Nicole Maggio, SUNSCAD

Share your views on NSCAD's Presidential Search