The NSCAD Senate is the university’s senior academic governing body and is required for institutional decision-making and accountability. Its authority is inscribed in the Constitution and By-Laws for the Academic Governance of the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (March 21, 2005). The Senate functions through a standing committee structure consisting of 11 committees and seven subcommittees, and its membership is comprised of faculty, staff and students.

Academic Senate Members

Dr. Sarah McKinnon
Interim President, NSCAD University

Adrian Fish
Division Chair, Media Arts

Dr. Ann-Barbara Graff
Vice-President, Academic Affairs and Research, and Provost

Alex Livingston
Professor, Painting

Anne Masterson
Academic Affairs Officer / FOIPOP Coordinator

Dr. April Mandrona
Assistant Professor, Art History and Contemporary Culture
Director, MAAE

Catherine Allen
Manager, School of Extended Studies

Glen Hougan
Associate Professor and Division Chair, Design

Craig Leonard
Associate Professor, Foundation Studies

Dave van de Wetering
Member, NSCAD Board of Governor

Dr. Karin Cope
Director, Master of Fine Arts

Mathew Reichertz
Division Chair, Fine Arts

Leanne Dowe
Chief Financial Officer

Dr. Marilyn McKay
Professor and Division Chair, Art History and Contemporary Culture

Dr. Martine Durier-Copp
Academic Dean

Laura Lima Nishida
President, SUNSCAD

Michael LeBlanc
Associate Professor, Design

Rebecca Young
Director, Library Services

Rory MacDonald
Senate Chair
Assistant Professor, Ceramics

Rose Zack
Acting Director, Admissions and Enrolment Services
Admissions Coordinator

Rudi Meyer
Director, MDes
Association Professor, Design and School of Graduate Studies

Sara Hartland-Rowe
RPT, NSCAD Faculty